Putting a plastic Easter egg to work

I wouldn't go out and buy a plastic Easter egg to do this, but since it was just hanging about the pantry doing nothing, it might as well get put to use.

I wouldn’t go out and buy a plastic Easter egg to do this, but since it was just hanging about the pantry doing nothing, it might as well get put to use. (Those are Craisins, by the way, not rabbit pellets.)

Colleen won’t let me use plastic bags in her lunch box anymore, but it’s been hard to figure out what to do with the small stuff, like Craisins. Enter this plastic Easter egg – the perfect-sized reusable container for dried fruit.

It’s funny how all these oddball behaviors that used to get eye rolls are now the coolest thing ever in my 11-year-old’s eyes, ever since her teacher the triathlete started their class on a sustainability project. Wrapping sandwiches in a bread bag is no longer embarrassing but “smart.” Reusing a disposable coffee cup until it begins to fall apart isn’t eccentric, it’s “green.”

As I mentioned yesterday, I’m getting tired of the word “sustainable” (not to mention “green”), but I love the concept – and I love being pushed by my kids to work harder at this. On Tuesday I finally took my bike out into a roaring wind for a 17-mile out-and-back slog on what could potentially become a back-roads route to work. I’m gonna count that as a down payment on May’s sustainability miles – though I wouldn’t mind coming up with a new name by the time I tally up the month’s total.

This entry was posted in sustainability, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Putting a plastic Easter egg to work

  1. You have an incredible daughter!
    I cannot wait for the day my kids start thinking about those things!

Leave a Reply

