Sustainability miles update

So much for April’s 30-day bike challenge. I’ve been so intimidated by these ferocious winds I only took the bike out a couple of times, which means it was not a breakout month in terms of sustainability miles.

I walked from work to the downtown library and back one day and rode my bike with Colleen from the Ossian jogging path to the grocery store and back another time. Total for the month: 1.8 miles. Total for the year so far: 5.2 miles.

Obviously I need to do better. Reading this post on Fit Recovery the other day makes me feel like I need to quit being a weenie about the wind. Yes, it’s much tougher riding in it than running, but clearly it can be done. (Besides, the stronger the wind, the better workout you get.)

By the way, I’m wondering if “sustainability miles” is really the best name for this project. The concept is to burn more calories and less oil getting where I need to go. Maybe if I came up with a more fitting name I’d get more invested in this…

 

 

This entry was posted in sustainability, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sustainability miles update

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Tisch, I’ve always hated the term “sustainability”. Cycling in the wind is all about coming to the understanding that it’s supposed to suck the life out of you and becoming okay with that. The hardest part for me is knowing how slow I’m going and how hard I have to work to be that slow – so much better to just take it easy into the wind and then rocket with the wind at my back… But the power developed in that vitality sucking wind translates to an enjoyable, fast summer season after the wind has died down. This is how I attack the dread. Check out my post this morning – I was able to write (last night) about the payoff.

    Good luck learning to love the wind… It’s definitely an acquired taste.

    • bgddyjim says:

      Oh my manners! Thank you for the mention.

    • tischcaylor says:

      Went out yesterday for 17 miles — and I have to say it wouldn’t have happened if I hadn’t read your post. Can’t say it was all enjoyable, but it felt good to challenge myself like that and I was definitely glad afterward. Thanks for the inspiration!

      • bgddyjim says:

        Awesome. It is never enjoyable when I’m out there, it’s afterward that’s a big deal. Your experience sounds about right. Try to give it some time. As soon as you notice that you’re passing a lot of people it should really sink in. And I’m glad I could help out a bit. Thank you.

  2. I used to walk everywhere, but now it doesn’t happen anymore, it’s either too hot, too cold, too far, or I’m in too much of a hurry.
    How about ‘clean miles’?

  3. How about active transportation? The wind has been brutal. We were in New Mexico in November and the wind on drive out was ridiculous. I sometimes feel as if the wind followed us back from New Mexico. Good luck with (blank) miles project.

Leave a Reply

