Free to run (but not for free)

I've been attending the Swiss Days Race for years, long before I started running, but I always had to ask off work to go. Here, a much heavier me and 2-year-old Cassie watch Ben and Rowan compete in the2001 kids version of the Swiss Days Race.

I’ve  attended the Swiss Days Race for years, long before I started running, but I always had to ask off work to go. Here, a much heavier me and 2-year-old Cassie watch Ben and Rowan compete in 2001.  

I’ve worked Saturdays ever since Cassie was a baby — and she turns 15 this summer. When I started running in 2010, it wasn’t long before I began to resent how I was never free to race on Saturdays. Then I decided to make the best of it and view my schedule as a built-in check against my tendency to overdo things. Focusing on much more rare Sunday races, and taking 1-2 Saturdays off a year for my very favorite events, meant that I wouldn’t – couldn’t – get carried away with racing.

Now after all these years my schedule is shifting. Starting Memorial Day weekend, I’ll have most Saturdays off. I’m psyched – but also a bit overwhelmed. There are a ton of events every single weekend. How to choose?

Clearly, it’s time to set up a race budget. Running is cheap – technically all you need is a pair of shoes – but entry fees add up, especially if you do longer races or the occasional triathlon.

Our busy family schedule will also rein me in somewhat. (Colleen’s already pestering me about coaching soccer now that I’ll be available on Saturday mornings.)

Still, it’s cool to know that work won’t get in the way of the Swiss Days Race, the Parlor City Trot half marathon, the Huff 50K  and anything else that looks exceptionally interesting. This is gonna be fun!

This entry was posted in running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Free to run (but not for free)

  1. Enjoy your Saturdays! Must be so great to finally get them off.

Leave a Reply

