Shopping fun at the running store

Look what I found on the $25 clearance stack!

Look what I found on the $25 clearance stack!

After substitute teaching at Colleen’s school yesterday, we took off on a shopping trip – to the Three Rivers Running Company.

Colleen gets down in the "start position" in her new Nike Pegasus at the Central Fort Wayne YMCA.

Colleen gets down in the “start position” in her new Nike Pegasus at the Central Fort Wayne YMCA.

It was the first time she got measured properly for running shoes and had her gait analyzed. (In a house with four “girls,” all of whom can fit into each other’s shoes, it’s not uncommon for her to grab a pair of my shoes or sneak a pair out of her big sister’s room.) Funny thing is, we discovered the youngest girl in the family has the biggest feet. And now she has her own pair of “real” running shoes. (Her last pair came from Kohl’s.)

I went for a test run in the Adidas Boost, which I loved, but they didn’t have it in my size. I settled for the Boost Glide, which was less sleek, not as flashy and $30 cheaper. It kind of felt like buying the ugly step-sister model, but when we stopped at the downtown YMCA afterward to try out our purchases, I liked how they felt on the track and even began to view their understated color scheme as “tasteful” rather than “boring.”

We were in kind of a hurry – Ben called during our run to see when we were bringing home dinner – so I didn’t try out my bonus purchase, a pair of Vibram Five Fingers marked down to $25 in the clearance stack.

But I slipped them on after our late dinner and wound up falling asleep in them. (Hey, herding  kindergartners is exhausting!) When I woke up several hours later, my feet still felt comfy, as if I’d slept in socks or slippers. I’m still wearing them, in fact. So  far, so good. I’m not going to wear them on pavement, but we’ll see how they feel on the trail.

My Adidas Supernova Glide Boost looked better once I got them away from all those other flashier shoes.

My Adidas Supernova Glide Boost looked better once I got them away from all those other flashier shoes.

This entry was posted in running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shopping fun at the running store

  1. I like those. I don’t usually like running shoes that are too flashy.

Leave a Reply

