55 days without Diet Coke

There’s a 2-liter bottle of Diet Coke sitting on our kitchen counter, and I’m really enjoying giving it the evil eye every time I walk past. It’s now been 55 days since my last sip of this beverage that once ruled my life. The more days that pass, the more my momentum to keep going down this path builds.

Even after my desire to drink Diet Coke began to fade over the last year or so, I always had trouble avoiding the impulse to "finish off" the last bit in the bottle.

Even after my desire to drink Diet Coke began to fade over the last year or so, I always had trouble avoiding the impulse to “finish off” the last bit in the bottle. I guess you could say it was a habit within a habit.

I wrote about kicking this 25-year addiction in this week’s News-Sentinel column. But while it’s true Diet Coke no longer tempts me — that bottle on the counter belongs to my husband — I’ve had a hard time figuring out what I DO want to drink. After all this time, I’m not crazy about taking up a caloric beverage. But what exactly am I trying to avoid here? Aspartame — or artificial sweeteners of all types?

Ben took great pleasure in “busting me” the other day for drinking a black raspberry sparkling water.

“If you look at the ingredients on this, it’s carbonated water with an artificial sweetener. So it’s basically the same thing as diet pop,” he said.

I’m not being too hard on myself just yet as I feel my way through this transition. But for now the safest bet is just plain old bottled water – or if I want a real treat¸ seltzer water with lemon juice.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 55 days without Diet Coke

  1. I know this is really boring, but water is the best option.
    I was also addicted to diet coke, 2 liters a day every day. The realization of how bad it really was for me grew and grew until one day I kicked it out. Stained teeth and putting a lot of chemicals on my body was something I was not looking forward to keep on doing.
    I drink juice or iced tea sporadically, but 99% of what I drink is water. Well except coffee.

    • tischcaylor says:

      It’s funny how much better water is tasting all the time. Can’t believe I drank that crap for over 25 years! (Well, yes I can. But it does feel good now to keep eliminating chemicals from my diet, liquid or otherwise.)

  2. bgddyjim says:

    I drink Gatorade (something like 7 grams of sugar per serving compared with 40+ for coke) and water with a lemon and lime wedge. I realize you’re talking about diet coke but I won’t go near the chems. Good luck, and tell hubby to put his pop in the cupboard so he doesn’t mess with you!

    • tischcaylor says:

      Actually water is working out pretty well, especially with the lemon juice. (I’m not inclined to give my husband any grief over Diet Coke, as I’m extremely pleased he’s finally quit smoking. One thing at a time… besides, it doesn’t tempt me anymore anyway.)

Leave a Reply

