A 7-week marathon plan – for confidence-boosting purposes only

I had 49 days to train for my first marathon.

That includes tapering – and the first three days getting wiped out by a blizzard/polar vortex double whammy.

What follows is NOT a shortcut strategy to marathon success. (No one’s going to interpret my 5:31:05 as a “success,” even if I did manage to jog the whole thing, which was my ultimate goal.)

According to Dad's old running log, he didn't go on any runs longer than 10 miles the summer of his last marathon, yet he turned in his best performance.

According to Dad’s old running log, he didn’t go on any runs longer than 10 miles the summer of his last marathon, yet he turned in his best performance.

Think of this training log as more of a confidence boost. When I was freaking out about my short time frame to prepare for the Maple Leaf Indoor Marathon, once I heard I’d likely get plucked off the waiting list, I got inspired by looking through my dad’s 30-year-old running log from the year he ran a 4-hour marathon “just for fun,” without doing any serious training or recording a single run over 10 miles.

In my case, I started with a decent base in the sense that I’ve been running 4-5 days a week for nearly four years now, with only one 6-week injury hiatus a couple of years ago. That being said, I totaled only 72.5 miles during my holiday run streak from Thanksgiving to New Year’s Day. Though my sister and I completed a 50-mile run/walk (running only about 1/3 of that distance) on Nov. 8, my longest run since then was 7 miles. And I did not record a single run of more than 10 miles during all of 2013.

So, here’s what I did. Notice that I only got above 40 miles once. So believe me, if I could finish a marathon, so can you.

marathontraintable

Sorry about the crap quality of this table. Yes, I am practically Amish when it comes to technology. (No disrespect intended — I admire the Amish I’ve encountered over the years in this neck of the woods.)

This entry was posted in running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A 7-week marathon plan – for confidence-boosting purposes only

  1. Thanks for sharing your training plan. I can imagine how stressful it must have been to train for a marathon having only 7 weeks. I’m glad it worked for you, you definitely had a very strong base going into it.

Leave a Reply

