A kid’s point of view: Reading labels

By Colleen, age 11

Mom and I went shopping on Sunday. I found myself really checking the labels, like should we buy natural peanut butter or regular? Mom let me decide on some things. I got the natural smooth peanut butter. Then Mom had me decide between a cheaper loaf of regular bread or lower calorie bread with more fiber. I got the low calorie bread even though I don’t like it as well. It’s not unbearable, though. The calorie savings is worth it.

colleenIt was really interesting to compare the labels. There were a lot of places where I was looking at something and thinking, “this brand has more fiber, but this brand has more protein.”

We decided that from now on we’re not going to buy any cereals that have less than 3 grams of fiber, because the fiber helps fill you up. This means no more Golden Grahams, Cinnamon Toast Crunch or Reese Puffs. But we still can get Frosted Mini Wheats, Cheerios and Raisin Bran. We also got several different kinds of Fiber One cereal. I don’t like the one kind, the twigs. But I sort of like the chocolate ones and the honey clusters.

It’s more fun to eat foods that I helped pick out!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A kid’s point of view: Reading labels

  1. Colleen, I am impressed by you! Learning to understand labels is one of the most important things you can do for your nutrition, it will always help you make better choices, and deal better when you make some choices that are not as good. Keep up the good work.

    • tischcaylor says:

      Thanks for giving Colleen encouragement. She doesn’t always get on here to respond to comments, but she does see them and it makes her day.

      • You are most welcome, and I don’t expect a reply from an 11 year old. 🙂
        She’s so strong to be working towards such a hard but worthy goal, I really admire her perseverance and strength. And kuddos to you, for guiding her.

  2. I love frosted mini what’s. I’m beginning to feel they have too much sugar. Good for you to be checking labels

Leave a Reply

