A kid’s point of view: Not hungry

By Colleen, age 11

Me and mom are both surprised at how well I am doing with my weight loss. So far I have lost 11 pounds in three weeks. I think it is mostly because of my stomach shrinking. Ever since I got sick a couple of weeks ago, I really do not have to eat that much to be full.

Mom says she has to finish something if it’s on her plate. If I finished everything that was on my plate, I would be torturing my stomach! Mom has taught me a lot of things about weight loss. (Some of them imperfections.) I just do not think about food now except when I am really, really hungry.

The weird part of all this is that I have not really been exercising but still maintaining my loss. But I hope to go to the Y today after school.

An awesome thing that happened on Wednesday was that I was picked as a finalist for my school science fair. There were about ten finalists out of 200 kids in my division. I do not get to go to regionals, but I got a blue ribbon and a finalist certificate!

You are looking at a science fair finalist -- who just happens to be 11 pounds lighter than 3 weeks ago.

You are looking at a science fair finalist — who just happens to be 11 pounds lighter than 3 weeks ago.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A kid’s point of view: Not hungry

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Your attitude with the “food on the plate” thing is fantastic (and you’re right). I rarely have to worry about that though… I put the right amount of food on my plate. You’ll get used to how much that is in time but for now, don’t worry about if. When you’re full, be done. Go with what works.

  2. Congratulations on your weight loss and on the science fair! You are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

