More snacks that ‘don’t count’

This "diet banana split" uses 1 banana and up to 2 tablespoons each of nonfat Greek yogurt, fat free whipped topping and chocolate Fiber One cereal.

This “diet banana split” uses 1 banana and up to 2 tablespoons each of nonfat Greek yogurt, fat free whipped topping and chocolate Fiber One cereal.

Last week I was talking about zero-point snacks I use to get around the BLT rule in Weight Watchers. Well, I did some brainstorming on that topic for this week’s newspaper column and came up with eight more, plus a modification on the stuffed dates that I like even better: Using a dab of creamed cheese instead of Parmesan to anchor that walnut half.

Rowan’s Buffalo cauliflower wings made the list, after I tinkered with the ingredients. The “wings” I made on Sunday, when we got together at my parents’ house to watch Peyton Manning dismantle the Patriots, used 1/3 cup flour, 2 tsp. garlic powder and ¾ cup water plus ¾ cup Buffalo sauce and ½ tablespoon olive oil. I was surprised my sister liked them, given that she’s neither a big veggie eater or a fan of spicy foods, but she agreed these need to be on the menu for Super Bowl Sunday.

I’d forgotten about grape dessert, while “diet banana split” is a new creation (sort of). And a new recipe that I absolutely love (though I wound up using chopped celery instead of zucchini) is the Chinese shoestring soup I got from hungrygirl.com.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, weight loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More snacks that ‘don’t count’

  1. Reblogged this on 2 Cups 'N Run and commented:
    Looks delicious!!

  2. tischcaylor says:

    Thanks! My daughter Cassie scarfed this one down the instant my husband was done photographing it….

Leave a Reply

