How Janathon is helping my marathon training

 I thought  Janathon would be a fun followup to the Holiday Run Streak – a chance to try a bunch of different workouts instead of focusing solely on running. I didn’t know then that I’d wind up entered in the Feb. 23 Maple Leaf Indoor Marathon (I’d been on a waiting list). But with January 2/3 over,  it seems to me that Janathon has added an extra – and important — dimension to my marathon training: upper body strength.

janathon-participant-logoNow that I’m running a lot more mileage, I can really tell that my back and shoulders feel stronger, thanks to all that snow shoveling and a lesser amount of swimming, yoga and circuit training. (I shouldn’t say “stronger” so much as “less weak”; still, the difference is very apparent. I no longer slouch toward the end of longer runs, like yesterday’s 10-miler, and at times I feel like my arms can take the lead in “piston pumping” when my legs want a break.)

                Here’s a look at Janathon so far, based on my Twitter postings. (If you want to follow along, you can find me @TanyaIschCaylor):

Chilly 2-miler wraps up all-outdoors #holidayrunstreak while also kickstarting #Janathon Day 1.

#Janathon Day 2: 45 min snow shoveling. (The way it’s coming down, might need to do another set of this extremely useful workout!)

#janathon Day 3: 1 “set” of snow shoveling, 45 min walk + “heavy ropes.” (Don’t ask!)

Star Wars cereal-box pen ink marks = 48 Y laps = 6 miles in 61 min for #janathon Day 4. Boba Fett? pic.twitter.com/KN3yR9Pqco

Took kids sledding in a blizzard + 2 “sets” of shoveling the driveway (blizzard is winning that one). #janathon Day 5 pic.twitter.com/cAPYqFVeoH

Step aerobics while watching “Miss Marple at Bertram’s Hotel” #janathon Day 6

#Janathon Day 7 Walking at O’Hare, waiting for our daughter Rowan to catch a flight to Spain.

#Janathon day 8: 1st treadmill run in almost a year. Good intentions (1 hour goal ) turns into 36-min (3.6 miles). Oh well…

#Janathon Day 9: Pushing stroller in perpetual wheelie mode puts 1yo niece to sleep — surprising upper body workout pic.twitter.com/5h3KMUIXOc. (Also 30 min. on exercise bike).

#Janathon Day 10: Aerobic step workout during “Agatha Christie’s Poirot: The Mystery of the Blue Train.” Learned how to pronounce Hercule.

#Janathon Day 11: 10-mile run in melting slush. Feet soaked from the git-go, but nothing fazes my 16yo #Landsend socks — no blisters.

#Janathon Day 12: After nailing yesterday’s precarious run, nearly turn an ankle on exercise bike today. Go figure…

Dad’s 30yo #running log cures my 1st #marathon jitters. https://90in9.wordpress.com/2014/01/13/first-marathon-in-just-gulp-6-weeks/ … Indoor 7-mile run for #Janathon Day 13. (Also yoga).

#Janathon Day 14: Even a rotten swimmer feels good afterward.

#Janathon Day 15: Does an unfocused, improvised circuit training workout count?

2-mile recovery run after yesterday’s 12-miler (96 Y laps) #janathon #marathon (Days 16-17)

#Janathon catchup, days 18-19-20 = 6-mile speed workout, circuit training + fitness bike, 10-mile run at Y (80 laps)

This entry was posted in running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Janathon is helping my marathon training

  1. I’m impressed. My Janathon has been mostly bike commutes to and from downtown to go to work or the Farmers Market.

  2. tischcaylor says:

    Oh, I wouldn’t be impressed. I’m just trying to avoid making a fool of myself at my first marathon — a real concern given there will be only 30 runners in a relatively small space. Nowhere to hide!

Leave a Reply

