Janathon update + run streak data mining

Ben gets ready to sled down the big hill at Markle early Sunday afternoon while Colleen and their cousin Mason wait their turn.

Ben gets ready to sled down the big hill at Markle early Sunday afternoon while Colleen and their cousin Mason wait their turn.Climbing up that hill multiple times felt like a decent Janathon workout, though not nearly as much as 2 sets of intense snow shoveling.

janathon-participant-logoSo far I am LOVING Janathon – and I think the holiday run streak makes me love it even more. They’re a great 1-2 combination in that during the holidays I embrace outdoor running – this year it almost felt like an extreme sport at times, given the weather – followed by Janathon’s fitness fun that makes me really appreciate cozy indoor workouts.

I love sandwiching a 6-mile indoor track run (Saturday) between days when my workouts consist of  “sets” of snow shoveling and sledding.

Holiday Run Streak wrap-up

I knew there was no way I was going to beat last year’s total — 105.5 miles in the 41 days from Thanksgiving to New Year’s Day, an average of 2.57 miles per day. This year I ran only 72.5 miles in the 36 days holiday span. Knowing I was going to be low, I decided to at least make sure I finished with a 2-mile daily average. (Which I did, but just barely!)

Last year I had 18 days where I ran the 1-mile minimum; this year I had 15.

Both years I ran only one race during the streak, the 4-mile Galloping Gobbler.

Last year my most interesting experience was running a DIY half marathon to my favorite local bakery; this year it was doing a Christmas lights after-dark run with my daughter Colleen.

The biggest accomplishment during this year’s streak was doing every single run outdoors. It was a fun challenge that I like to think toughened me up a bit. (That being said, I’m really glad to NOT be running outside today, when the HIGH for the day is supposed to be MINUS-11!)

Yes, my sister and I took our kids sledding in a blizzard. From left: Cassie, Madison, Monroe, Ben, Mason and Colleen.

Yes, my sister and I took our kids sledding in a blizzard. From left: Cassie, Madison, Monroe, Ben, Mason and Colleen.

This entry was posted in fitness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

