Google wants us to walk … sort of

Here’s a cool thing: I was looking up mileage on Google Maps for a potential run in a nearby small town, and in addition to three potential routes with their corresponding drive times, the site also presented a fourth option: Walk.

The first three routes varied between .8 miles and 1.8 miles to get from Point A to Point B, each taking 3 minutes by car. Google Maps estimated it would take 16 minutes to walk there instead.

Is this new? How does Google decide which routes are walkable and which aren’t? When I plugged in our home address and Ben’s high school 1.2 miles down the road, it suggested only a single route with an estimated drive time of 1 minute, but no “walk” directive. Is this because there are no sidewalks? Is this something factored into the Google Maps algorithim?

Next I tried three destinations all originating from the Fort Wayne Newspapers building. The downtown library (.4 miles, a 2-minute drive) and the Botanical Conservatory (.8 to 1.0 miles, 2-3 minutes drive time) both offered a “walk” suggestion, with an estimated time of 9 minutes for the first destination and 16 minutes for the second. But the third destination, to the Three Rivers Natural Food Co-op, .9 miles away and a 3-minute drive, got no “walk” suggestion or estimated stroll time.

It’s not like I need Google Maps to tell me whether I should walk or drive, bike or run to get where I’m going. But it doesn’t hurt to remind people that it only takes a few more minutes to walk most places that are less than a mile away. (And for what it’s worth, yes, I’m still walking to the bread store from work, even though the street construction is completed and the weather is crappier.)

This entry was posted in fitness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Google wants us to walk … sort of

  1. Sandra says:

    Psssst. 🙂 I just nominated you for an award. I’ve been SO busy I’ve not kept up lately, but I surely miss reading your positive, encouraging posts! Glad I have a month before crazy starts again 🙂 Maybe I can finally lose weight this year. Dammit. I have to!

  2. MikeR says:

    I wonder if crossing the railroad tracks plays into the lack of walking directions to the co-op. I’ve never used Google maps to get walking directions, though I’ve used it for biking directions.

Leave a Reply

