Wake-up call: Run streak ‘season’ is 6 days shorter

The tree outside the Ossian library, as viewed during last night's snow on a run through town.

The tree outside the Ossian library, as viewed during last night’s snow on a run through town.

In 2012 there were 41 days from Thanksgiving to New Year’s. This year Turkey Day landed just three days before December, meaning the Runner’s World Holiday Run Streak lasts only 35 days.

That’s good news for folks like Colleen who are in “Just Do It” mode, but if, like me, you were hoping to beat last year’s mileage total, consider this a wake-up call.

I’m terribly lazy about calculating mileage, so it wasn’t until yesterday that I tallied up my dismal total and realized I’ve really got to get in gear if I want to beat last year’s stats (105 miles, an average of 2.57 per day). Right now I’m averaging less than 2 miles per day, in part because I’ve been trying to do an all-outdoors streak. Between the cold, wind and snow/ice, there’s always a temptation to do the bare minimum. In fact, I usually congratulate myself on getting out there at all when the weather’s crappy.

I COULD increase my mileage by doing some indoor running, so long as I get in an outdoor mile every day. (And I have run a bit indoors with Colleen, but I haven’t counted those runs.) But I think I want to tough it out. Now all I have to do is get tougher….

This entry was posted in running, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

