Honey balls (and a Newtons update)

Honeyballs

“Must. Have. Better. Fuel.”

This is what was going through my head the last few miles of Monday’s 20-miler, which went pretty well overall but was surely affected by the fact that I was conscious of my monthly Weight Watchers weigh-in that evening. I almost certainly didn’t drink as much as I should have, and I didn’t have enough carbs in my system, either.

Next time, I’m going to make up a batch of honey balls, one of our favorite Smoky Mountain hiking snacks.

They’re super easy to make: Just mix ½ cup of honey with ½ cup of peanut butter* with 1 cup each of rolled oats and dry powdered milk. Roll into balls, and they’re ready to go — no baking required.

The sole lugs, or "claws," as Colleen calls them.

The sole lugs, or “claws,” as Colleen calls them.

Newtons update: I wrote earlier that my “calves were screaming” after wearing my new Newton Gravity shoes on the second 10-mile lap of Monday’s run/walk, and they were. It was only Day 2 in those shoes, after all, and you’re supposed to break them in gradually, in 1-2 mile increments.

That ouchiness gradually subsided and was completely gone by the next morning. I was going to take Tuesday off, but when Colleen asked to go to the Y after school, I couldn’t resist jogging a couple of easy treadmill miles for another Newtons break-in session. They felt great.

But then I walked into Wal-Mart, and when I came out, the calf soreness was starting up again. So was it a delayed response to the run — or the result of walking around on those sole lugs (or “claws,” as Colleen calls them)?

Personally, I think it’s the walking. (I wore the Newtons again Wednesday for another easy 2-miler, but took them off immediately afterward.) Clearly, further research is required.

*Actually, because my sister/training partner has developed a peanut allergy in the years since our family’s annual pilgrimages to Tennessee, I’ll use Sun Butter, which is made of sunflower seeds, instead.

This entry was posted in Recipes, running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Honey balls (and a Newtons update)

  1. Your second run/walk in these shoes was 10 miles? When I bought my shoes they told me to go out for a mile the first time and gradually increase my distance. I think my legs would have fallen off if I went 1o miles on my 2nd run. You may want to back off to 5Ks untill you get used to these shoes.

    • tischcaylor says:

      Yes, definitely not smart, just a time crunch and impatience kicking in. I read on your blog about early on feeling like your Newtons made you faster. Still feel that way? I’ll have to go back and read more…

      • I think they do make me faster on shorter runs. It takes more energy to run fast regardless of the shoes you wear.
        I wore them for my last marathon and I don’t think they helped that much. It was hard to tell during the last 1/3 of the marathon when I was spent.
        I had different muscle aches this time around as the shoes make you run differently.
        I think these shoes will be great for hilly races.

Leave a Reply

