A kid’s point of view: I need a challenge 2

By Colleen, age 10

colleenOnce again I’ve discovered I don’t run just on my own. Having a goal is what I need. Based on past experience, I am the type who conquers. Competitive, not a better word that fits me. But to just go out and run without a competition … it just doesn’t seem to happen.

I really want to run 2 miles a day. But will I? How can I get motivated? If you have any ideas or suggestions, please tell me in the comment section.

This entry was posted in running, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A kid’s point of view: I need a challenge 2

  1. Gpa says:

    One thing we should do is have another family challenge of some kind.

  2. bgddyjim says:

    Colleen, you have to make it a habit, sunshine. I go out for ride immediately, every day except Monday, after I get home from work. If I sit on the couch, even for a few minutes, I have a tough time getting out the door (ask your mom about me, we’ve read each other’s blogs for a while now – I’m a bit of a fitness nut). I ride alone every evening except Tuesday and on Friday’s I ride with my wife. I used to be a social exerciser, but have come to enjoy the solo rides just as much… That did take some time though. Good luck kiddo, run fast.

    • I know I know, but somehow I have to make it a game or a challenge. Mom and I signed up for a 5K so maybe that will help. Thanks for your advice!

      P.S. My brother really wants to see “World War Z” and then I showed him your review and now he wants to see it even more.

      • bgddyjim says:

        Ooh, make beating your mom the goal of the game! Good luck.

        I hope your brother is old enough, there’s a lot of nasty stuff in that movie!

  3. There are so many activities that are so much more fun than going for a run at 10 years old! Have you thought about joining a sports team? All the benefits of running but way more exciting! You have the rest of your adult life to go on runs or use aerobic equipment. What about a soccer, basketball, softball, or swim team? You can have fun learning about fitness, goal setting, and being a team player all under one umbrella! At 10 years old fitness should be fun, so fun you almost don’t know you’re excercising. Ultimate Frisbe and kick the can or beckers wave were great fun to play outside of practice when my teammates and I hung out outside of the pool. Plus, the friendships you make will last a lifetime.

    • P.S. See if your school has an x country running or ski team (if it snows there) if running is really what you want to do. So much better than running on your own and your coach will know how to make the miles more fun, cater practices to your needs, and help you understand your results/help set goals. Good luck! I wish I was 10 again!

    • I LOVE sports! I play baseball, basketball and soccer. I LOVE ultimate frisbee, but I don’t get to play it as often as i would like to. But I want to improve my general health and get better at running in my sports, so that’s why I want to figure out a way to get in more jogging. Thanks for your support!

Leave a Reply

