Weight Watchers store provides weigh-in flexibility

One of the treats at Heather's wedding shower Sunday -- a high heeled cupcake. (I didn't actually eat one of these, but I could have if I'd wanted to.)

One of the treats at Heather’s wedding shower Sunday — a high heeled cupcake. (I didn’t actually eat one of these, but I could have if I’d wanted to.)

After nearly three years of weight-loss maintenance, I’ve never missed a monthly Weight Watchers weigh-in — and I’ve never NOT made my goal weight. But I wasn’t thrilled to realize that the end of the month was coming up and the timing this time around was going to be pure agony, coming the day after not only our triathlon but a bridal shower featuring a big spread at Mom’s house.

I’ve successfully fasted through parties before; it’s not like I can’t do it. What concerned me more was the triathlon. I didn’t like the idea of severely restricting fuel in the days leading up to the race, then having to stay away from the refueling table afterward. (And THEN having to skip the buffet table at Mom’s after that.)

Then I realized that with a new Weight Watchers store* now open in southwest Fort Wayne, I could just go weigh in there anytime Friday morning. I had to sweat off a couple of pounds to make weight, but that left me with plenty of time to rehydrate before Sunday.

I know this may sound like a lot of hassle, but I don’t want to give up my lifetime status that gets me free weigh-ins and meeting access if I need it. I like needing to be accountable so I don’t let my weight slide too much in any given month.

Even so, it was incredibly liberating to rearrange my weigh-in to fit my schedule instead of the other way around. It reminded me of when VCRs came out and it suddenly became possible to watch TV shows whenever you felt like it instead of at a set time.

The down side is that this innovation made it possible for me to overeat at Heather’s shower, which I definitely did. But I appreciated that energy bar before the race about 1,000 times more than anything I ate at the party.

*The store is located next to Target off Illinois Road. It’s open banker’s hours on Mondays and Fridays, with limited hours other days. There doesn’t appear to be a phone number listed. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Weight Watchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

