A lesson in team triathlon spirit

The worn-out crank arm (hanging like a trophy from the handlebars) was just one of the things that needed tending to on Ben's bike.  Happily, the crew at Summit City Bikes was able to fix us up in less than an hour.

The worn-out crank arm (hanging like a trophy from the handlebars) was just one of the things that needed tending to on Ben’s bike. Happily, the crew at Summit City Bikes was able to fix us up in less than an hour.

My running shoes have holes in the toes and my bike won’t shift gears, but yesterday I spent fifty bucks getting my son’s bike fixed — so my sister can ride it.

How’s that for a team-first attitude, as we prep for a triathlon a week from Sunday?

I’m not exactly seething with resentment here. I wouldn’t wear a new pair of shoes on a trail run anyway, and I want Traci to ride the fastest bike in the family — so it only makes sense to move Ben’s bike to the top of the tuneup priority list, even though he hasn’t been riding it much.

Besides, I’ve benefited from shared gear in the past. I’ve still got a wet suit belonging to my brother-in-law’s brother from our last couple of triathlons, though I’ll likely pass it on to my niece Madison, our team swimmer in this event.

Part of me is just a bit wistful about being limited to the runner role at Tri the Creek. Without that deadline on the calendar, I haven’t worked on my swimming in quite a while.

But that’s the short-term view. In the long run, I’m liable to learn much more about swimming the better Madison gets at it. And her participating in her first outdoor triathlon is a great way for her to learn stuff she can then pass on to me and her mom.

 

This entry was posted in triathlon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A lesson in team triathlon spirit

  1. bgddyjim says:

    With this comment you’ll get my email address. Shoot me an email to that address and I’ll send you my cell phone number. Give me a holler Wednesday evening and we’ll get your bike shifting again in no time – assuming you have a few simple tools. 4,5 & 6 mm Allen wrenches, chain lube, bike grease.

  2. tischcaylor says:

    Oh my, you are brave (or perhaps misguided?) to think you can teach me how to do anything with a wrench, but what the heck. Let’s give it a try. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

