Zucchini pie (tastes like sugar cream)

zukecreampie2

OK, so I went a bit overboard with the cinnamon…

This recipe comes from Traci’s friend Lisa Gerber, who’s also the source of beautiful bean dip. I don’t know what it is, but I can never simply follow a recipe as is without making some kind of change — usually because, as in this case, I didn’t have all the ingredients.

I thought about using rice syrup once I discovered our sugar canister was empty, but in the end I decided it would be simpler to sub brown sugar. Next time I make this, though (and there WILL be a next time), I might try the rice syrup.

This pie does taste pretty similar to sugar cream pie, which raises the question: Is it actually any healthier? (Before we answer that question, I should note that I always make my sugar cream pie with milk instead of cream or half & half. I think it tastes fine and nobody complains.)

As for the other ingredients, when I compare the recipe below to a standard sugar cream pie recipe, this one has 1/2 cup less sugar, 6 T less flour,  3/4 cup less whole milk (in addition to the cup of cream I mentioned earlier) and 3 T. less butter.

So yeah, I’m not in a number-crunching state of mind, but I’d say you definitely save a whole bunch of fat and calories by making zucchini sugar cream.

The Recipe (adapted from this one at allrecipes.com)

  • 2 c zucchini, chopped
  • 1 c sugar
  • 2 T flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 c half & half (I use skim milk)
  • 1 1/2 t melted butter
  • 1 deep dish pie shell

Directions

  1. Put chopped zucchini in microwave safe bowl and add a little water.
  2. Microwave until cooked, about 5 minutes. Should equal about 1 cup of cooked zucchini.
  3. In blender, mix zucchini and rest of ingredients until blended.
  4. Pour into unbaked pie shell.
  5. Sprinkle with cinnamon and nutmeg.
  6. Bake at 425 for 15 minutes then 350 for 20 minutes or until set.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

