Handy dandy canning tool

canningmagnetDespite my interest in healthy eating, I’ve struggled to get over my aversion to intensive gardening. As a kid, getting sent out to pick endless rows of green beans felt more like punishment than anything to get excited about, especially after I’d get yelled at for leaving too many beans on the plants.

This magnetic tool makes it much easier to remove canning lids from boiling water.

This magnetic tool makes it much easier to remove canning lids from boiling water.

This summer I think I’m finally getting over the hump, now that we’ve got a bigger work crew, better organization and superior tools, such as this magnetic gizmo that helps you retrieve canning lids from boiling water without burning yourself.

My sister-in-law Darcy found this one at Wal-Mart, I think, for just a buck or two. They’re also available at Ace Hardware and from Amazon.com for $2.73.

I picked green beans on Sunday at Mom and Dad’s while Traci picked lima beans and Ben and Madison picked tomatoes and cucumbers, then Brent and Darcy helped my parents can a few jars of sweet pickles. Yesterday Traci and I helped my parents can another 18 quarts of green beans — getting in a quick run during one of the 25-minute pressure canning sessions.

 

This entry was posted in sustainability, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

