My Cheerios running fuel ritual

Mmm ... my favorite pre-run meal.

Mmm …

You know how the Japanese can make a whole ritual out of making tea? Well, that’s how I am with Cheerios and peanut butter.

It’s one of my favorite pre-run meals. In fact, I’d choose a Cheerios-studded spoonful of peanut butter dunked in milk over a Starbucks cake pop any day of the week.

Feel free to try this at home.

Feel free to try this at home.

I used to just measure out my Cheerios (anywhere from ½ to 2 cups, using the length of the run and not my highly faulty hunger monitor as a guide), dunk my spoon in the peanut butter jar, and dig in.

Over time, however, this process has evolved somewhat. Now I nibble some of the peanut butter, deposit the rest on the side of the bowl while I savor the milky O’s — which may or may not include banana slices, if I haven’t’ already eaten them all —  then finish up with my Cheerios “cake pop.“

This is the route from the White Bridge to Ouabache State Park, with a loop around the campground and back.

This is the route from the White Bridge to Ouabache State Park, with a loop around the campground and back.

This is what I had before meeting Traci yesterday for an “add-on run” at Oubache State Park. We’ve been using an app on her Iphone to map our runs, and our plan was to add a loop through the campground to our current favorite 6.6 mile route.

It didn’t add as much distance as we thought, just a little less than a mile for a 7.5 mile total. What really surprised us, though, was that on a day when we struggled in the heat (after 2-3 weeks of delightfully cool weather), our times weren’t as awful as we expected.

Must’ve been that Cheerios cake pop. J

These aren't great mile splits, but considering how much the heat was bothering us, we were plenty satisfied.

These aren’t great mile splits, but considering how much the heat was bothering us, we were plenty satisfied.

This entry was posted in running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

