Beautiful bean dip

IMG_0241

“You’ve gotta try this dip,” my sister said last weekend when I went to pick the kids up after the Loon Lake 5K. “It’s so good!”

Her friend Lisa brought it. She calls it Ugly Bean Dip because she ran all the chopped veggies through the food processor until it was a brown goo. I loved the flavor, but I like my veggies chunky. When I made some to take to the Norwell baseball banquet last night, I was struck by how colorful it was — enough so that I decided to change the name to beautiful bean dip.

To me, it’s really more of a spicy white corn and black bean salad. But it goes great with chips, too. Dip. Salad. Ugly. Beautiful. Call it what you want, but I’m definitely putting this one on my potluck shortlist.

The Recipe

1 green pepper, diced

1-2 jalepeno peppers, diced

2 Roma tomatoes, diced

1 red onion, diced

2 cans white corn

2 cans black beans

1 cup ranch dressing (I used Peppercorn Ranch for extra flavor)

1/2 cup creamy Italian dressing

1 tablespoon dried cilantro or 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

1 teaspoon chili powder

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

dash of hot sauce

Combine the chopped veggies and puree in a food processor, if you like your dip ugly and you’re trying to entice some suspicious eaters into trying it. Skip the processor if you like a more colorful, crunchy dip. Either way, add the rest of the ingredients, stir well, and you’re good to go.

This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Beautiful bean dip

  1. I’m on your side—I like my food on the beautiful side! 🙂

    • tischcaylor says:

      I guess it depends on whether you feel compelled to “hide” the veggies or not. I love to see them in there, but I know my sister wouldn’t eat my version!

  2. Looks delicious! I think my family will really like it~

Leave a Reply

