A kid’s point of view: Size doesn’t matter

By Colleen, age 10

Say it’s field day at school. Someone walks by, sees me and thinks, Poor girl, she is probably hating this, she is too tired. They’d be wrong. Well, mostly, I’d be just a little bit out of breath. But really I’d be thinking this game is sooooo fun, I wish I could play this game more often.

colleenAnyone who didn’t know me and just saw how I look wouldn’t pick me for a sport, but I’d prove them wrong as soon as the game started. There’s nothing I like more than playing baseball, soccer, basketball or anything with a ball.

Take the Ironkid, for example. When I got to the bike portion of the race, my bike broke. I ended up jogging the rest of the way, and even through I finished dead last, I was proud that I had competed the race. Even now, there’s this one girl I play basketball with, and every time I see her she tells me how strong I was to keep going.

In baseball, I’m the only girl on my team. Well, actually in the whole league! But the fact that I was picked for the boys all-star team shows I have real skill, no matter what size I am or whether I‘m a boy or a girl.

I love baseball! I play first base and lately I've been pitching, too. Here's me getting a hit at last night's game.

I love to play baseball! I play first base and lately I’ve been pitching, too. Here’s me getting a hit at last night’s game.

This entry was posted in fitness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A kid’s point of view: Size doesn’t matter

  1. Gpa says:

    Colleen, you have a great attitude. Keep it up. I could tell that you loved every minute when you were pitching

  2. lartinos says:

    Good for you, you will end being a leader in many ways in your life as you continue with this attitude.

Leave a Reply

