Bike lifestyle envy

bikefw

I just love the way bikes, bike racks and bike lanes are multiplying like bunnies in downtown Fort Wayne.

On my way into the office for a meeting this week I was suddenly overcome with extreme envy when I saw this bike parked near Fort Wayne Newspapers. It wasn’t so much that I coveted this particular bike (though it looks like fun) as the lifestyle I imagined it represents.

I may not have the guts to ride 20 miles to work (mainly because of the traffic and darkness more than the distance), but this makes me want to bring my bike along for those inevitable postwork errands. Even if I’m not a real bike commuter, I could ride to the library and the food co-op and so forth and play the part — at least until it‘s time to head for home.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bike lifestyle envy

  1. runninginnj says:

    Sounds like you need a folding bike so you can just keep it in the car. I have a Dahon for just that sort of thing (and for taking on the train).

    • tischcaylor says:

      My daughter has a folding bike, though it’s very old and kind of heavy for the size. I bet yours is much lighter and transportable. But for now I’ll just pop a bike rack on the car — and a good sturdy lock, given we no longer have security guards at our building!

  2. MikeR says:

    As you know, I ride daily to work and on other errands. It’s good to see more and more people riding around Fort Wayne. Maybe we’ll never be Portland, but we can be bike friendly. Karen and I bought a couple of folding bikes last week. They’re Indian Insta-bikes imported from Italy. I don’t know how old they are. Maybe 40 years? Good luck with biking around downtown.

Leave a Reply

