A kid’s point of view: 5K a day project

By Colleen, age 10

As I huffed and puffed and mumbled something about when we were going to stop running and start walking, I realized something: I was running a 5k.

colleenThat one was Wednesday morning at the River Greenway. It all started a couple of days ago when we on our way to a workout, and Mom said, “ You know something that would really help you in the Ironkid?”

“No, what?” I said.

“Running and walking a 5k a day. You want to?”

“Sure,” I said.

My usual 5k routine is run 2 miles, and walk the 3rd. Impossible? Not a chance. I love a great challenge, and this is one of the greatest challenges I have ever taken on.

So far this week I’ve run and walked a 5K on Sunday, Monday, Wednesday and Thursday. On Tuesday we ran out of time so we counted my 5K bike ride instead. (Actually it was twice as long than that!)

Now running 1 mile doesn’t seem like a big deal anymore. On Wednesday I got my most exercise in a long time. I did my 5K, biked 4 miles and played a 3-hour baseball game. I was going to ride my bike to my baseball game, but Uncle Gunnar thought my game was across town and didn’t want me and my cousins riding our bikes there.

Sorry, gotta go. It’s time for my run!

This entry was posted in running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A kid’s point of view: 5K a day project

  1. Gpa says:

    Good job Colleen. You are on a roll, keep it up!!!

  2. Sammi says:

    Great job Colleen!! I need a dose of your motivation. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

