A kid’s point of view: The Chicks Run 5K

By Colleen, age 10

I was just enjoying my Monday, and then Mom came home from work, and she was like “Do you want to do the chick run with me?”

“Sure,” I said.

We wore our Swiss Days shirts so we'd look like a team. We called ourselves the Swiss Girls.

We wore our Swiss Days shirts so we’d look like a team. We called ourselves the Swiss Girls.

I went on with my week without giving it a second thought. Then came Thursday. As we were on our way to pick up Monroe (one of my cousins who was going to run with us), one thought was going though my head: How hard can this be? Question answered: Very!

We started out slowly jogging, then walked. Then jogged. Then walked. Overall I’d say we ran about 1/3 of the race (it was a 5k). We went the whole race with us planning next year’s wacky outfits and commenting on the inspiring signs posted along the way.

My favorite part was sprinting to the finish line with Monroe and everybody cheering for us (it was just for women, by the way).

That was my first 5k, and I liked it a lot.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

