Yoga on a bike

For some reason, I can only get myself to do the cat-cow maneuver when I’m on a bike. Maybe because that’s when I’m most likely to feel overwhelmed by back and shoulder tightness?

cartoon-bicycle-7On one recent ride, I blew through the first seven miles, determined to push hard on telephone pole intervals and then amazing myself with speeds in the 18-22 mph range — until I realized that it had all come with the help of the wind at my back. When I turned around to head home, I could barely coax my speedometer into the double digits.

I hunkered down, knowing this would take a while. And then, like any good multi-tasker, I figured I might as well de-sproing my back.

Cat pose

Cat pose

Cat-cow was the first thing that came to mind, and it works great on a bike. In a nutshell: Just arch your back like a kitty cat, then do the exact opposite, pushing your belly down like a cow. Oh yeah, and breathe.

Better yet: Watch this video, which will give you some of the finer points I might’ve glossed over. Then just transfer that same mindset to your bike, the next time you’re going nowhere fast.

 

Cow pose

Cow pose

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yoga on a bike

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Get outta town! That just might be brilliant, though forgive me if I don’t pull that one out on the club ride… 😀

Leave a Reply

