The ‘Reese Egg Recovery Act’ competition

First Brent texted this photo, along with the caption, “I don’t know what happened”….

My brother Brent was texting this joke-photo combo over the weekend, which naturally led to a rehashing of the time he was visiting Traci at Ball State and they each bought a six-pack of Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs and devoured ALL of them while sitting in the car.

Then he sent this one of Baby Kyla, with the caption, "I don't know what got into me!"

Then he sent this one of Baby Kyla, with the caption, “Now I know!”

That made him the perfect guy to call when I was faced with a Reese egg crisis of my own at the store on Monday — should I stock up now that one of our family’s favorite treats are on sale? Or was that just asking for trouble?

Naturally Brent was on another line. By the time he called back,  I’d already pulled the trigger. They were sitting there in the van with me and the rest of the groceries. I hadn’t opened the pack, knowing it would be hard to hold myself to a single egg. Had I made a mistake?

“That’s a good question,” said Brent, noting that he’d stashed 10 leftover peanut butter eggs in the back of their pantry Sunday night in the hopes he’d forget about them once they were out of sight.

On the other hand, he recalls from a Reese’s taste test we did a couple of Octobers ago how delectable the eggs are out of season, when they‘re virtually impossible to find. Ever since, we‘ve both not only stayed away from inferior Reese Christmas trees and other themed versions, but from the standard peanut butter cups as well. They’re just not as good.

So now we‘re both stuck with a hot commodity: His 10 eggs versus my six. Naturally we decided to see who could make theirs last longer.

He’s banking on the “out of sight, out of mind” principle. And if he does notice or remember them, he’s fairly confident he’d have just one, because he’ll want to make them last as long as he can.

“Before Easter, it’s a whole other mind set,” he said. “Then you can eat the whole thing and know you can just go out and buy more if you want to.”

Setting up this silly competition with Brent should help me resist my characteristic impulse to devour the whole package. (That, and my curiosity about what would happen if I put these on Ebay next fall.)

Now we’ll have to come up with some kind of stakes, or perhaps a prize or wager penalty …

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

