Building a backup plan for workouts

You hear a lot about the importance of “making an appointment with yourself” to exercise.

workoutcalendarBut sometimes even that isn’t enough. On Tuesday I blew through four potential workout options I’d penciled into my schedule before finally squeezing in a short run while waiting to pick Colleen up from school. Luckily I ran out of excuses before I ran out of opportunities.

Once upon a time, when it came to exercising all I saw were obstacles. No time, our road was too busy to run on, blah blah blah. But now I look over even the busiest days for times and places to fit in a workout — and I almost always find them.

Tuesday was a work day, so I packed a bag to stop at the Y afterward. After work I blew off Option 1, the downtown Y, because I wanted to go out to Jefferson Pointe to return a Christmas gift. So I figured I’d utilize Option 2, the Aboite YMCA.

But it was such a nice day I thought it was a shame to work out indoors, so I decided to move on to Option 3, a 5-mile intervals run at the Ossian Trail on the way home. But then I got so drowsy on the drive home — I got up at 3 a.m. that day — that I decided I needed a nap first. Next thing I knew, it was time to go drop Ben’s sports gear at the high school. (Which I’m not counting as an option even though I often run there because all that teenager traffic is just nutso as school’s letting out.)

From there I needed to go pick Colleen up at the elementary school, which is near the Ossian Trail. I no longer had time for a 5-miler, but I did have 20 minutes or so. So I jogged from the school parking lot over to the trail, took a quick lap around and jogged back to the school doors just as the bell rang.

My Taxi Mom duties were far from over, so I could’ve run on the indoor track at the school during Colleen’s basketball practice. And if that had failed, I would’ve still had time to make it to the Bluffton Y after I picked her up.

And failing that, I could’ve done an aerobic step workout at home later in the evening.

So, eight exercise opportunities on a fairly hectic day. And I bet there could’ve been even more, if I’d needed to find them.

This entry was posted in fitness, Tips, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Building a backup plan for workouts

  1. I can relate to days like these – just with how work, errands and life seem to pile up and the personal time you carve our for yourself gets smaller and smaller. I’ll also admit that with workouts, I can find just about every excuse imaginable to NOT do it on a busy day. But I always tell myself, I’ll never regret that run I take. Sometimes this is what I need to get me out there–knowing how accomplished I’ll feel in the end.

    • tischcaylor says:

      The workout I wound up with wasn’t ideal, but at least I got something in. Some days, that’s the best you can hope for. And it sure beats not doing anything at all!

Leave a Reply

