Run streak data mining

I ran at least once in every pair of shoes in my lineup,  including these Free Runs whose heels separated from their soles...

I ran at least once in every pair of shoes in my lineup, including these Free Runs whose heels separated from their soles…

It’s weirdly liberating to start January feeling satisfied. To be gently reviewing a just-completed project rather than scrambling to launch some daunting new challenge.

Maybe I shouldn’t be feeling so calm, because my running goals this year — a marathon and a 50K — are my most ambitious ever. But they feel doable. Just a matter of stretching out my long runs a bit, really.

And so after finishing up my holiday run streak last week, I actually took a couple of days off*. I’ll get cracking on those 2013 projects, including 2-3 triathlons, soon enough. But in the meantime, here’s a look at the run streak data:

  • My mileage total, as expected, was unimpressive: 105.5 miles in the 41 days from Thanksgiving to New Year’s Day, an average of 2.57 miles per day.  (On the plus side: That’s a figure that should be easy to beat next year.)
  • Longest run: 13.66 miles, from our house to my favorite bakery and back. (I bought a giant gingerbread man, but instead of eating it, I wound up carrying it all the way home to give to Colleen.)
  • Shortest run: The 1-mile minimum required to maintain the streak. I did this on 18 of the 41 days, which is embarrassingly close to half of them.
  • Fastest mile:  This timing thing didn’t really work out, as I wound up clocking only the first five runs before I kept forgetting and lost interest. But since I’d like to do more speedwork this year so that marathon doesn’t take me a zillion hours to complete, hopefully by next Thanksgiving I will have located my running watch and found batteries for it. But for what it’s worth, the only mile I timed myself on, and which I wasn’t really even aiming for a certain time, was 9:22.
  • I took my road beaters out for a spin in the snow.

    I took my road beaters out for a spin in the snow.

    Pairs of shoes worn: 5. I ran at least once in every pair of shoes in my current lineup, including my road beaters that are way too worn out to even think about donating to charity. Also, both heels on my Goodwill-purchased Nike Free Runs have separated from the soles, but I ran in them anyway. Actually, I ran in them twice, both 1-mile shorties. (Have I mentioned that I’m just not that picky about shoes, and/or I think most shoes are highly overrated?)

  • Regrets: 1. I wish I would’ve kept a tally of my mileage as I went along. This first year, my primary goal was just to run every day and to get in my bakery half-marathon. I did both, so I feel good about my first holiday run streak. But it would’ve been fun to note when I was coming up to 100 miles, for instance. Knowing what the big picture looks like can help you adjust what you’re doing at any given moment.

*Though I did go to the Y one day just for the heck of it and wound up doing an hour on the elliptical without even breaking a sweat. Talk about your feelings of calm satisfaction….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

