The 10 best things I ate in 2012

pitapizza

1. I’m still a sucker for gooey cheese pizzas, like the six-cheese Parlor City Pie at Tyeger’s Pizza in Bluffton, but one of the tastiest pizzas I had this year was a simple pita pizza  made at home:  Two dates cut lengthwise, 1 tablespoon each of feta cheese, plain nonfat greek yogurt, reduced fat cheddar cheese and walnuts. and 4-5 grape on a bed of spinach leaves with onions and mushrooms.

2. Speaking of pizza, this fruit pizza we made to celebrate our April weigh-in during Wells Weighs In was absolutely amazing:

fruitpizza

3. This recipe for Weight Watchers fudge is going to be my signature holiday candy from now on. It’s rich and chocolatey, it’s only 1 point per piece, and it’s incredibly easy. Colleen can make this all by herself — and  she’s already memorized the recipe.

4. The best thing I had at Thanksgiving this year was a low-sugar diabetic recipe for sweet potatoes with a delectable pecan topping that reminded me of pumpkin pie crossed with pecan pie. I had at least three servings of that stuff. I have yet to track down the recipe, but that dish was the inspiration behind my pecan-topped pumpkin dessert, which is almost as good.

Pecan-topped pumpkin dessert

Pecan-topped pumpkin dessert

5. The second best thing I had at Thanksgiving was Aunt Jenny’s cranberry chutney, using Grandma Jane’s classic recipe. Why do we only make this at the holidays?

cranberrychutney

6. I still can’t believe those cherry fritters I made a few weeks ago were only 2 Weight Watchers points each. Definitely need to make some of these for Rowan before she heads back to school.

These fritters were easily as big as the palm of my hand...

These fritters were easily as big as the palm of my hand…

7. I was seriously bummed out when the Rosewood on Main closed in Bluffton, because former owner Carla Rose’s chocolate pie was the best I’ve ever tasted.

chocolatepie

8. My new favorite “candy bar,” as of this year, is a Cherry Pie Lara Bar. It has exactly three ingredients: Dates, dried cherries and crushed almonds. Yum.

cherrypiebar

9. Was the best salad of the year really Aunt Jenny’s Christmas Eve spinach salad with dried cranberries, carmelized walnuts and poppy seed dressing —  or was it simply the most recent tasty salad I experienced this year? Hard to say, but Ihad  to remind myself to leave some for Rowan, who arrived late because she had to work.

10. Oh no, are we already at the end of the list? Does the low-fat carrot cake from last Easter beat out Grandma Linda’s potato soup on Christmas Day? I’d have to say so, because while gooey potatoes still taste good to me, I can’t eat them these days without feeling uneasy.

What about that tasty bowl of oatmeal Bob cooked up for me the other day? Topped with chopped walnuts and blueberries, with a little PB2 peanut butter powder stirred in … simple, yes, but oh so good — and good for you.

And what about any given Honey Crisp apple? Or one of Colleen’s fruit smoothies? Decisions, decisons. This one might have to be a four-way tie…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The 10 best things I ate in 2012

  1. This is my kind of post! And why don’t you eat cranberry chutney year-round? It’s great on oatmeal, yogurt and sandwhiches! 🙂

Leave a Reply

