Rookie runner finished 2 half marathons in 1st year

Sammi with her nieces after finishing the Fort4Fitness Half Marathon.

Sammi with her nieces after finishing the Fort4Fitness Half Marathon.

One of the suprises when I started attending Weight Watchers meetings again with my mom was that a regular I remembered from nearly three years ago, Sammi Cole,  had not only taken up running, but had finished two half marathons.

Turns out Sammi’s also doing the Runner’s World Holiday Run Streak. Here’s what she had to say about her new workout of choice:

Q. When did you start running, and why?

A. I started running last December or January.  I needed to set a goal to help me get back to my goal weight. A friend of mine had gotten into running, so we planned to do a half (marathon) together. I figured if the contestants on “Biggest Loser” could do a full, then I could do a half.

Q. What’s your proudest moment so far?

A. Activity-wise, it would have to be running the Fort4Fitness Half Marathon (in late September). My family came out to see me and show their support. I finished with a great time for me, faster than my goal. (F4F time was 2:23:08; my goal was 2:30). I even had the energy left to kick it in and pass people in the stadium. My first 1/2 was the St. Jude Country Music Half Marathon in Nashville in 2:38:10

Non-activity would be when my mom started an eating plan and has been doing great. She told me I am her inspiration. That almost made me cry. She hit “Onderland” (got her weight under 200 pounds) a few weeks ago.

Q. Next big goal?

A. Kids, if possible. If not, I plan on doing some more half marathons and another Tough Mudder. Considering doing a full, possible a sprint triathlon, but I need to work on the swimming things.

Q. What made you want to try the Holiday Run Streak, and how’s it going so far?

A. The Phit-n-Phat online group I belong to had a thread on the challenge, so I joined in for accountability on days that I really don’t want to do anything. So far I haven’t missed a day; if it’s a strength training day I just walk or run my mile after work, and do 3-5 miles most other days. On Wednesdays the group adds a Wacky Wednesday twist, on top of our run.

Q. How long have you been in WW? Seems like you must be a lifetime member — you certainly don’t look like you have any more weight to lose — but you seem pretty dedicated. Can you imagine life without Weight Watchers at this point?

A. Not quite 4 1/2 years. I am a lifetime member, but only due to a doctor’s note for a higher weight. He didn’t think their goal was accurate for me to sustain long term. However I have not been following the plan so much; I am using Loseit.com to track everything. But WW taught me to make better choices and changed the way I eat. I couldn’t imagine not going to the meetings, though. I need the accountability.

Q. Anything you’d like to add?

A. I would just like to thank those who helped and inspired me along the way and continue to do so. I hope that I can pay it forward just like they have.

This entry was posted in Interviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rookie runner finished 2 half marathons in 1st year

  1. Corinne says:

    WTG Sammi! It’s been an honor to do TWO races with you this year – Tough Mudder and Country Music Half. Can’t wait to see what all we can get into this year with ya! As I told you in MO, you are becoming quite the athlete. Makes me proud.

Leave a Reply

