Amazing huge cherry ‘fritters’ for just 2 freaking points

Not to blow this out of proportion or anything, but THESE MAY BE THE SINGLE BEST THING I’VE EVER CONCOCTED in terms of most satisfaction delivered for the least amount of Weight Watchers points.

These fritters were easily as big as the palm of my hand…

The background: Earlier in the week Ben made a batch of apple fritters from a mix my parents brought back from a recent trip to the Smoky Mountains. You’re supposed to deep fry them, but I asked him to just fry them on my nonstick griddle like pancakes. He did, and the kids liked them so well they didn’t feel the need to top them with syrup, apple butter or anything else.

So I got to thinking: What if I experimented with other fruity pancake concoctions, made them into blobby shapes instead of round circles and called them “fritters” instead of pancakes? Could we basically eliminate the use of syrup around here?

Answer, based on Wednesday’s berry fritters: Yes.

But Thursday’s cherry fritters sealed the deal. These were not only tasty, visually appealing and huge — the size of my palm, as you can see — but when I added up the points, these actually came out to slightly less than 2 per fritter. The reason: Because Weight Watchers allows fruit as freebies, the only ingredient that contains any points is the whole wheat flour.

The recipe:

Santa tries to sneak a bite when no one’s looking…

2 mashed bananas (I thawed a sandwich bag of frozen bananas)

1 large egg white

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

8 packets Stevia* (the equivalent of 1/3 cup sugar)

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 1/2 teaspooons baking powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup frozen dark sweet cherries, pitted, juice included

To make: I stirred the egg white into the bananas, then added the applesauce (I used a single-serve container, which is just the right size). Then I added the dry stuff (Stevia, flour, baking powder, etc.)

Finally I stirred in the pitted cherries, juice and all, then fried like pancakes except trying to make shapes that looked lumpier and more fritterlike.

*I didn’t necessarily plan to use Stevia for these, just thought I’d like to use some superior sweetener like agave nectar or brown rice syrup. But I didn’t have enough agave on hand and I couldn’t get the lid off the brown rice syrup, so I went with the Stevia instead, and since everybody loved these, I’ll probably just stick with that in the future.

This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized, What We're Eating and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

