The training diet (on training wheels): Take 1

I’ve been eating like crap lately. Not just too much, though that’s part of it. But too much crap as well.

I haven’t had one of my homemade “Jurek cookies” in a long time

On the one hand, my post-Weight Watchers mindset is an anchor that keeps me from getting in too far over my head — so far. It’s nearly two years now since I first attained my goal weight, and in that time I’ve never gone over at the monthly weigh-ins required to retain my free lifetime membership.

On the other hand, it’s a system that’s too lax in some ways, that lets me get away with too much. (The ice cream diet, in which I dealt with a 106-degree day by eating ice cream on five separate occasions without blowing my daily points total, comes to mind.)
So I’ve been trying to develop more of a “training diet” approach. And after falling woefully short every time I‘ve decided that for now I‘m only going to try to pull it off 1-2 days a week. And when I do, I‘m going to plug my food choices into calorie count.com, so I can get a better look at the nutrients I’m getting.

So I gave this a whirl on Wednesday. Here‘s what I came up with:

Breakfast:
One of my Jurek energy cookies (½ cup of cooked oats mixed with a tablespoon of peanut butter and then baked like a cookie dotted with blueberries.)

Post-run snack:
½ whole wheat English muffin with apple jelly

Lunch
1 can tuna mixed with a cup of shredded cabbage and a tablespoon of Miracle Whip
½ plain whole wheat English muffin
¼ cup pumpkin seeds

Snack
2 bananas

Dinner
1 cup Progresso lentil soup
Half a slimwich, toasted, with melted American cheese
Cucumber slices with salsa
1 slice crustless pumpkin pie

Which would’ve been really great, if I hadn’t gone back for seconds on the soup, the toasted cheese bread, AND the pie. (Naturally I can’t help thinking that if I’d been tallying Weight Watchers points instead of calorie count data I would’ve done a better job of restraining myself.)

Still, the calorie total wasn’t as bad as I expected: 1,815, if I tabulated everything correctly, which is far from certain. And it was interesting to discover I met every nutrient requirement except two, and went over in only one (sodium). That definitely would not have happened if I hadn’t been plugging this stuff into this data-mining device.

I was low in potassium despite eating two bananas, so that‘s something I need to work on. I wasn’t surprised that I was low in calcium. I dealt with that by taking a couple of Bob’s antacid tablets, but really, I guess that means I should probably be taking a supplement every day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The training diet (on training wheels): Take 1

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Since I’ve started tracking my diet I have gained a lot of respect for people who eat what you listed… I’d have cooked my arm on the grill and eaten that with some BBQ sauce. Thank God for ridiculous miles on the bike.

Leave a Reply

