The fine print on a son-run

So I’m hunkered down in a comfy chair with a chest cold and a page-turner  after a draining day of moving Rowan into her dorm at Manchester when Ben comes in from mowing and says, “Hey Mom, wanna go for a run?”

Bob took this shot of Ben at Saturday’s cross country meet.

I ought to rest. I ought to be suspicious, because our 14-year-old never invites me on a run. Instead, I find myself saying “Sure!” with as much enthusiasm as I can muster, given that it’s past my bedtime even on a good night.

He wants to drive down to Norwell to jog a couple of laps around the school in his new Nike Free Runs, which feel like slippers after doing time in motion-control Brooks that helped correct an over-pronation issue.

I figured he’d take off and leave me and my hacking cough behind, but it turns out he also wants to rehash the Bi-County conditioner, which was inconveniently scheduled during my Saturday morning shift on the copy desk.

He wasn’t thrilled with his splits on a Hokum Karom-style race in which guys alternated running six 1-mile loops. But I remind him that he’s just a freshman, still figuring out how to run. The important thing is that he’s having fun. And he is, though it’s unclear which he enjoys more — the team runs or the locker room hacky sack games played with an empty Gatorade bottle.

By lap 2, Ben produces an embarrassed grin and his ulterior motive: He was hoping to practice driving around the school parking lot after our run. He especially loves shifting gears in our commuter car, a little Chevy Aveo we just happened to drive over here.

“Sure,” I say. “I’m glad we got a little run in first, though. Helped clear my lungs out.”

He nods, then zooms off to finish his lap, already shifting into driving mode.

The start of the Hokum Karom-format race. Ben’s No. 928 in the center, in the red spikes. (Thanks to Cindy Weirick for sharing this pic, which includes her son Tyler to Ben’s immediate left.)

This entry was posted in running, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

