Spinach salad omelet

I‘d never heard of a fruit omelet before Wednesday, when Rowan and I met my mom at the Indiana Pancake House after the three younger kids got on the bus for their first day of school.

The Hawaiian omelet at the Indiana Pancake House.

The Hawaiian omelet was one of at least a dozen vegetarian options on the menu besides waffles and oatmeal, which was cool. This one had bananas, strawberries, pineapple and honey with a strawberry sauce. It was good, but I think I was hoping for something less dessert-y and more like the sweet and savory combinations that work out so well in so many salads these days.

A couple of Hawaiian omelet recipes I found online were ham and pineapple based, with cheese. But I’m not eating ham anymore — nothing with four legs, is the way I like to think about it —  and so I kept looking and thinking.

My “spinach salad omelet.”

Finally I decided to go with something vaguely spinach salad-like: spinach and strawberries with walnuts and Michigan brand cottage cheese, which has a creamier, denser texture than the store brands I usually buy. I wish I’d just put the strawberries on fresh instead of sautéing them with the spinach and walnuts, though that was more of an appearance issue than anything else.

Still, my “spinach salad omelet” was fairly tasty and got me out of an egg rut I’d been mired in for a while.

This year, for the first time ever, all four kids are going to school … to four different schools. On Wednesday, Ben was heading off to his first day of high school, Colleen was preparing to terrorize Ossian Elementary, and Cassie was starting seventh grade. Rowan still has a couple of weeks before she starts classes at Manchester University.

This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized, What We're Eating and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

