Last-minute cool race alert

I know, I know, I said I was taking Saturdays off for the summer. But I completely forgot about the Waterfall 5K Trail Run tomorrow at the Kokiwanee Nature Preserve in Huntington County.

Last year’s race…

I’m still scrambling to see if I can wedge this into my plans, but I wanted to mention it because it’s a really cool course that not many people seem to know about, for some reason. (Actually, I was afraid I’d already missed it; for some reason I thought it was earlier in the spring.)

Here’s more from a late-breaking e-mail reminder I got yesterday:

Start time is 8:30 AM at the Tailwaters Pavilion at the Salamonie Dam. There will be a cookout afterwards with grilled burgers, brats, watermelon and more. This is a 5K run on the trails of the Kokiwanee Nature Preserve. Kokiwanee is a former Girl Scout camp that was purchased by the ACRES Land Trust to preserve for future generations. The site has numerous waterfalls and is one of Indiana’s true natural treasures. Part of your entry will go toward ACRES. The start and finish are at the pavilion on 600E. This is at the tailwaters of the Salamonie Dam. There will be a cookout after the race on the pavilion grill. This beautiful natural area is near the point where the Salamonie River joins the Wabash River. REGISTER ONLINE for the 2012 event by clicking here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

