Learning to stop (eating) “on a dime”

Lately I’ve been testing various analogies to see if they can help me  wrap up my eating for the day.

I’ve already got a workable analogy for what happens when I don’t: Engine run-on. That sputtering that occurs when I’ve said “enough already” but my hand nonetheless keeps putting things in my mouth.

I’ve written before about how going even 1 Weight Watchers point over my allotment seems to have this effect. I never go just 1 point over, or even 2 or 3. If I miss my stopping point, then I can never seem to shut down  until the 5-7 points over range (if then).

To get past this problem — which has been particularly aggravating  lately as I try to cut my daily points allowance by another point or two as we enter the last week of Wells Weighs In — I thought I’d work with “controlled stop” metaphors:

Sticking your landing, like in gymnastics. Stopping on a dime (apparently in a car, though one word origins site suggested this may have actually originated with trains.)

Option B quickly emerged as a slightly less awkward mixed metaphor; at least “engine run-on” and “stopping on a dime” both involve  vehicles, though one applies to the engine and the other to the brakes.

The question is, how to activate the analogy?

For me, having a specific image or term works on the most basic level to help identify a problem or pattern that previously was just part of the background noise of modern existence.

Thus, “engine run-on” IDs the problem; “stopping on a dime” suggests a solution. Now it’s up to me to figure out what that solution is.

Having detected a numerical pattern in how I blow past my point limit, I thought I’d back up and study what happens when I begin my approach.

I’ve only been scrutinizing this a few days, but thus far it seems like I do better if I stop on a really satisfying multi-point food rather than try to string together a series of single-point items.

More research is clearly needed. But here’s an example from my Monday night fast-breaking after my monthly Weight Watchers scale check:

After filling up on a largish low-points meal of fruit and egg whites with spinach and salsa con queso, then indulging a “junky snack” urge with a serving of Spicy Buffalo Wheat Thins, I took a few minutes to calibrate my “dessert” to fit my remaining number of points.

I’d started out planning to make a streamlined version of some peach cobbler I’d successfully avoided over the weekend. But I didn’t want to take the time to convert lite peaches into a pie filling, so I just dumped the can in a small baking dish and covered it with ½ cup of raw oats, 2 T of brown sugar and 1 T of low-cal margarine.

This gave me a giant 7-point “dessert” that was really more like a  baked oatmeal. But it was incredibly satisfying — probably all the more so because it took me the precise distance on the number line to my predetermined stopping point.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

