The ‘whim’ triathlon

So I haven’t run any races this year and now, out of the blue, I’m training for a triathlon that’s less than four weeks away.

Am I nuts? Probably. But I’m also incredibly excited, because I always thought I was way too crappy of a swimmer for an event like this.

Turns out the organizers of the May 20 Fox Island Triathlon don’t care what kind of stroke you use  — which means instead of that irritating crawl I can do the only stroke I find even remotely comfortable, the sidestroke.

This event calls for a 500-meter swim, a 12-mile bike ride and a 5K run. I think I can do it, as long as I don’t fret about the time. We’ll see.

This entry was posted in running, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The ‘whim’ triathlon

  1. Shanny says:

    Very cool! And outside of your comfort zone perhaps? Which makes you a rockstar for even contemplating, let alone doing!

  2. bearrunner says:

    I think you can do it too

    • tischcaylor says:

      Well, this is just a baby tri compared to what you’re working toward. Thanks, though. I get inspired thinking of all that training you’ve put yourself through!

  3. I did my first triathlon 100% side stroke– you can definately do it! I have some swim tips I just put on my blog that may be helpful. 🙂 Good luck with your race!

Leave a Reply

